The village has some fine old houses, the remains of a Venetian castle on the hilltop and several Byzantine churches; the most notable is the Theotokaki, with some interesting frescoes. Monastery of Profitis Ilias is three kilometres from the village. It is located on the peak of the mountain with the same name, altitude of 550 meters. The monks, Joachim and Gabriel, were the ones to start the construction of the monastery in 1771, with the help of the bishop of Fira, Zacharias, and the approval of the Patriarch of Constantinople, Cyril. After the Patriarch's spiritual protection the monastery was named a "Patriarchical Monastery". Around the 19th century the monastery was expanded from its original form, when the King of Greece, Othon, charmed by the landscape, ordered its expansion. The monastery's museum is full of ecclesiastical articles of unlimited value. Also, there are icons from 15th and 18th centuries, a 20th century iron cross, silver bound scriptures, and the diamond-adorned mitre of the Patriarch Gregory E'.
share your opinion of it with other travelers. Write