www.Travel-To-Santorini.com - SANTORINI ISLAND GUIDE
Welcome to Santorini
Travel to Santorini Travel-to-Santorini logo
Travel-to-Santorini logo Travel-to-Santorini logo Travel-to-Santorini logo
Travel-to-Santorini logo
HOME | E-CARDS | SHIPS | PLANES | PHOTOS| BLOG  
Welcome to ...
blank imageSANTORINI ISLAND

Santorini top 10 proposals
--------------------------------------------------------------------
SEARCH
German translation by Google French Italian Spanish Portuguese Japanese
SANTORINI
HOTELS
RESTAURANTS
CAFE
CAR RENTAL
RECREATION
TRAVEL AGENCY
ART SHOPS
DIVING
JEWELLERY
CAMPING
WEDDINGS
REAL ESTATE
SHOPPING
TAVERNS
WINE
YACHTING
TRANSFERS & TOURS
COIFFURE
LAUNDRY
BEACH BAR
VILLAS
PHARMACY
YACHTING SUPPLY
DOCTORS
EXCURSIONS
VARIOUS
Live Santorini webcams
MAP
INFORMATION
VOLCANO
VILLAGES
BEACHES
WORTH SEEING
PHOTO GALLERY
VIDEO GALLERY
360 PANORAMAS
TOP 10
E-CARDS
TOPICS
MAILING LIST
NEWS
SEARCH
ABOUT US
LINKS
SANTORINI SANTORINI REVIEWS

  • Lindsay
  • US
  • Santorini
    Date : 2010-12-17 02:55:46  
    Rating : Excellent

    Santorini was absolutely beautiful!! If you are looking for a place to go that is great for a family, this is the place! It is so gorgeous, the water is so clear, the beaches are great, the shopping is amazing! The scenery is breathtaking! You will fall in love with this island! I did!! :)

  • Kasia
  • leeds
  • Santorini
    Date : 2010-01-08 09:31:18  
    Rating : Excellent

    It's the most beautiful place on earth!!! If I'd have the chance I'd visit Santorini again...and again...and again... Just love this place!!!

  • Chad Lloyd
  • Asheville
  • Absolutely beautiful
    Date : 2010-01-08 09:30:33  
    Rating : Excellent

    What can I say...Santorini was a fairy tale...ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Santorini, also known as Thira, was home to a thriving Minoan population before the volcanic island exploded around 1650 B.C. Many theorize the island is home to Plato's Atlantis...the description makes it fairly compelling. Today, the island's towns cling to the edges of the cliffs along the rim of the resulting crater. The volcano is still active!

  • mel
  • sunny southwest, england
  • Santorini
    Date : 2010-01-08 09:29:43  
    Rating : Excellent

    Santorini had been on our "list" for ages, and we finally made it there this August/September.It exceeded all our expectations. Stayed at Cliffside Suites at Firastefani- a small hotel of updated troglodyte dwellings in and clinging precariously to the cliffside high on the caldera edge. Views were indescribable, no photograph could ever do them justice.We went for R and R so stayed there for two weeks. Spent an awful lot of time sitting on our terrace watching the cruise ships and smaller craft like ants seemingly thousands of metres below.Eagles soared on the same level as us, one pair were constantly there, wing span @ 2metres we reckoned.? White tailed eagles? Sunsets better than the books say! Good beaches, Kamari suited us best, clear clean deep water (blue flag) ancient Thera on hillside above. Plenty of excellent eateries and coffee/beer places right behind beach.If you go there watch out for the guy riding a big motorbike with his poodle standing on front seat wearing custom made bike goggles!Dog looked as if he'd been doing it all his life - even leaned into bends.

    Went to Oia, not as pretty as Firastefani we felt, and sunsets just as good from Imerovegli. perhaps a touch over marketed as being best from Oia. Fira itself is full of tourists, especially if there are a lot of cruise ships in but this doesn't spoil it. Pricewise, you definately pay for eating and drinking according to how good the view is. Food seems quite cheap and very good; fish is excellent. coffee varies between 2.5 and 4.5! Euros. Beer about the same. Buses on time, go everywhere, all end up back at Fira and very very cheap.

    It would have been possible to fill every day doing something different, there is so much to see despite it being such a small island.

    It is much more expensive to stay on the caldera edge than on the East side but worth it if you can. I don't know if it is already, but Santorini should be in that list of places to see before you die! We will go back when Akrotiri site is re-opened

  • Aaron & Katy
  • Boston
  • The Colors of Santorini
    Date : 2007-07-01 10:36:30  
    Rating : Excellent

    The island town of Santorini looks like a talented artist’s rendering of perfection. With lagoons of cobalt blue, sands of brick red, and buildings of dove white, visitors to this tranquil destination in Greece might feel like they’ve stepped into a painting. Winery tours, horseback riding, scuba diving, and enjoying Santorini’s energetic nightlife combat the desire to just lay back and take in one of the prettiest sunsets you’ll ever see.

  • kayessemm
  • US
  • I am a Grecian Goddess
    Date : 2007-06-28 12:49:31  
    Rating : Excellent

    pent two day in Athens, checked out the Acropolis but really didn't take in much more of the city. It was just a stop over before we hit SANTORINI!! So I'm in love with this island and now have plans to become a lighthouse keeper / fisherman / vineyard owner / diner owner. This is it! I am staying!!!

  • Chris & Anni Bichard
  • Guernsey,Channel islands
  • Santorini
    Date : 2006-10-22 21:23:22  
    Rating : Excellent

    We stayed at the very comfortable 9 muses Hotel,excellent swimming pool!The perissa beach was not far away easy walking distance but a much better beach is just a short boat trip away called Kamira,here the shops and restaurants are of a much better standard than Perissa.The island itself is truly breathtaking with amazing views from the Caldera we hired a quad bike to get about great fun!!Oia has to be the most beautiful village in Santorini Although Thira was a close 2nd.Wine very expensive in the hotels, food generally of a good standard .Weather in the middle of September was glorius we would definitly return.

  • David
  • Blackpool, Lancashire
  • Worth visiting!
    Date : 2006-10-13 11:01:16  
    Rating : Excellent

    The first time I went to this place was on our honeymoon. The second time was for my wife’s birthday 3 years later. Amazing. Breathtaking. Relaxing. All the adjectives that people use are true. Please add it to your list and go. But don’t go to the east side of the island – save up and splash out and stay on the west side – the caldera. Waking up to the view of the volcano each morning, sitting on the balcony in the evening watching the sun set and the boats just can’t be beaten. If you have an ounce of romance in you find someone to go with and just GO.

  • Hillary
  • Florida
  • AMAZING!
    Date : 2006-09-08 15:35:48  
    Rating : Excellent

    One word to describe Santorini...AMAZING! If you ever take a trip to Greece, you must must MUST stop in Santorini. They have many restaurants, cafes, hotels, clubs, and beaches to visit!! It's such an awesome place to visit and there are so many things to see and do! This is by far the best place on earth!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :):):)

  • ALISON RUSSELL
  • KIDWELLY WALES
  • HOLIDAY 2006
    Date : 2006-08-31 12:53:22  
    Rating : Excellent

    WE WENT TO SANTORINI THIS JULY, WHAT A PLACE EVERYTHING WE EXPECTED AND MORE WE STAYED AT APPARTMENTS IN KAMARI ON THE BEACH WHERE YOU COULD SIT IN THE POOL AND ALMOST TOUCH THE SAND, THATS HOW CLOSE WE WERE. OUR DAUGHTER WHO IS 12 HAD A GREAT TIME AND EXPERIENCED HER FIRST DIVE. THE BOAT TRIP TO THE HOT SPRINGS IS A MUST. THE ONLY ONE DISAPPOINTMENT WAS THAT AKROTIRI IS CLOSED TO VISITORS FOLLOWING A FALL LAST YEAR. WE WOULD GO AGAIN IN A FEW YEARS. THE CABLE CAR IN FIRA WAS FUN ANDF ALL THOSE DONKEYS "PHEW".

  • Connie and Annie Lingus Band
  • Ottawa
  • We are coming to Santorini
    Date : 2006-06-15 11:52:59  
    Rating : Excellent

    Hello there,

    We are the Connie and Annie Lingus Band from Ottawa, Canada. We are coming to Santorini for the summer of 2007 to play for the many great people who visit the island every season.

    If anyone can help us make connections, or if you need music at your pub please contact us.

  • Bura
  • Pennsylvania
  • Be prepared to be taking deep breaths
    Date : 2006-06-15 11:39:12  
    Rating : Excellent

    You approach the island by sailing into the center of the submerged valcano cone, the white town blinding you from on high. Climbing up to the town, short breaths are suggested. Looking down from the top of the town to the harbor below and the sea around you, deep breaths are mandatory. Black sand beaches on the other side of the island, constant cooling winds, you’re surely in some form of Paradise. Then you see all of the tourists and you scurry away in search of a place for quiet contemplation and staring.

    Absolutely unbelievably gorgeous. A permanent memory burn.

  • Tina
  • Canada
  • romantic
    Date : 2006-05-25 05:39:49  
    Rating : Excellent

    Santorini is very breathtaking. We stayed at an affordable hotel nothing fancy, King Thira, very clean, very nice owners. it was about a 5 minute walk to the main drag where all the restaurants and action is. I found it to be an island for couples and families, very very extremly romantic! if you want to go to a party Island go to Mikonos-Santorini is for love love love!!! We used the buses for transportation and it was cheap! about a Euro for a busride! and the buses run very very frequent. If you are looking to have a nice dinner and watch the sunset save your pennies!! very very pricey but worth every penny. Beaches were excellent. book your hotel room now! what are you waiting for!!

  • Ewen Bell
  • Sydney
  • Seduced by Santorini
    Date : 2006-02-08 10:28:43  
    Rating : Excellent

    Many popular destinations lose their character by virtue of their popularity but not Santorini, for her brand of fame has led to greater things: encouraging a celebration of all things Hellenic, a distillation of that elegance and refinement which is unique to classical Greek style.

    Friendly locals, a superior lifestyle, and breathtaking natural beauty. Santorini is for lovers.

  • Marja
  • Oslo
  • Everything was great!
    Date : 2005-09-13 10:28:33  
    Rating : Excellent

    Visited Santorini for the first time on July. We enjoyed our trip through some of the Greek islands and ended in Santorini. We could not get enough of the lovely views of Fira, the crystal clear water of Perivolos and the good food. Everything was great! We had a wonderful summer! I recommend it to anyone.

  • Joanne
  • UK
  • a day in santorini
    Date : 2005-09-07 16:30:38  
    Rating : Excellent

    We were only in Santorini for the day as we arrived on Brilliance of the Seas, a Royal Carribean holiday. We were incredibly lucky as holiday makers to view Santorini from the sea.The view was amazing! Like a chocolate cake with white icing drizzled on top. We took a boat to the shore and climbed to the town of Fira by donkey.My 2 children found this funny but suddenly half way up it was not so funny....hot and scary! We strolled around Fira for a few hours having lunch in one of the cafes with spectacular views of the sea. The shopping was great not tacky at all. The cable car ride back down to the port was great value and the views once again was fantastic and thrilling. I would love to now spend some quality time exploring Santorini ...I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Rosemary A. Talmadge
  • NY
  • A part of my soul will always remain in Greece
    Date : 2005-09-02 02:15:57  
    Rating : Excellent

    When we finally arrived at our apartment in Firastefani (after carrying our bags down the 79 steps to our door), we sat to rest on the small balcony. The sky was clear, the afternoon sun was strong and spread out below us and around us in every direction was the view of my dreams. When you look forward to something for a long time, there is always a risk that you will be disappointed, that the real thing will not be as you imagined it. But not in this case. As I looked out over the caldera and the sea below, I couldn’t speak. I cried.

    Everywhere we traveled in Greece we were awed by the scale of the history of Greece, and by how the people we met valued their history and culture. We saw this at the pre-historic ruins at Akritori (believed to be the lost civilization of Atlantis), in the artifacts on display at the brand new subway station, and in an ancient theatre on the Acropolis. A 14-year-old student from Athens who accompanied us on the trip to Lavrion spoke fluent English and described in detail the history and politics of the places we visited. Each person we met was proud of their homeland and willing to share it with us. We were also touched by the rich spiritual life of Greece – in the 500 churches on Santorini, in the everyday references to the role of the ancient Gods in people’s lives and in the spiritual energy of the caldera. Above all, we were humbled by the hospitality of the Greek people and the incredible generosity of each person we encountered.

    A friend of mine told me that when you travel by plane it takes a while for your soul to catch up with you. I believe this is true and I also know that a part of my soul will always remain in Greece.

  • Andrew Smith
  • Bradenton
  • it is all absolutely incredible!
    Date : 2005-08-25 15:02:53  
    Rating : Excellent

    Santorini is one of the most beautiful places in the world. The small island is just like it looks in the magazines. White, stone buildings with the blue trims lining the harbor, four-foot-wide stone streets running in a dizzying maze densely packed buildings, it is just incredible. Everywhere you look, you are just left in awe.

    We drove around, seeing the main town of Fira, the black sand beaches of Perissa on the west side, and cruising to the Red Beach (it was fairly red) on the south part of the island. You can traverse the tallest point and see for miles in every direction, surrounded by the rest of the island in what can only be described as one of the most beautiful views there are in the world. In the evening we went to the north part of the island, again avoiding any massive injuries on our small mobiles, and saw one of the most beautiful sunsets ever. Surrounded by small islands and the Mediterranean Sea, it is all absolutely incredible.

  • Liesl and Maxine
  • USA
  • We will be back!
    Date : 2005-04-20 12:07:30  
    Rating : Excellent

    We had a two weeks adventure in Greece. Athens and Santorini. Never in our wildest dreams did we think that our trip to Greece would be such a magical experience! We ate great food, drank ouzo and did shots which kicked our butt, witnessed spectacular ruins, beautiful sunsets, and most importantly found the Greek people warm and inviting. Athens was nice, we enjoyed the history and the people but Santorini...well, let us just say Santorini has not seen the last of Liesl and Maxine!

  • Marcia
  • Boston
  • As beautiful to see and experience as you can imagine
    Date : 2005-01-09 23:18:07  
    Rating : Excellent

    This is really as good as it gets! The picture does not lie, it was as beautiful to see and experience as you can imagine. We spent the most glorious vacation here in Santorini. Suggest it to everybody!

  • DODA
  • Switzerland
  • y miss it !
    Date : 2004-11-16 15:23:46  
    Rating : Excellent

    it's a dream ! i love this island.. the people, the sea, the beach, the flower, the wine you can visit it every month in the year !!

  • Bill
  • London, UK
  • Would recommend island to all
    Date : 2004-09-21 21:37:31  
    Rating : Excellent

    The view of Santorini! Warm island (25-29 degrees) but there is a cooling breeze. Have drunk lots of Amstel and practiced my Greek - Kalimera!. Would recommend island to all. Lovely views, good food, cheap booze and friendly people. Yammas Bill

  • A Travel to Santorini User
  • Chalon s/saone, France
  • amazing!
    Date : 2004-08-04 22:11:45  
    Rating : Excellent

    I went to Santorini 4 years ago, by hazard, as i was on my way to Crete. Before i arrived on the island, i planned to stay only one night and catch a ferry in the morning to reach Crete. But when i actually arrived at Santorini i felt like if i was on paradise, i stayed there one month i didn't go to Crete and i am going back to Santorini this summer!!


    Write your review of SANTORINI


    BACK TO SANTORINI

    BACK TO PREVIOUS PAGE